Fail-safe great mushrooms – use me often!

10 Aug

This is something I’ve been cooking forever and again it’s just something basic that I copy from my dad. Sometimes, in my darker moments I recall when I was 10 and declared myself vegetarian to my horrified parents. After fainting on my rollerstakes in the kitchen while helping to skewer kebabs for the barbeque, my parents started sneaking meat into my meals with a rather unkind force. One of my favourite things has always been my dad’s cooked-down mushrooms – which, he realised, look very much like kidneys…

It was a cruel thing to do to a 10 year old.

Anyway, these mushrooms are to go with other things, but variants of them get used in multiple different dishes, so it’s easier just to write it out once and link to it. Oh, the economy!

Fail-safe delish mushooms

  • 250g mushrooms – can be the cheapest ones
  • 3 – 4 TBSP soy sauce/tamari
  • 1 TBSP balsamic vinegar (or lemon juice, depending…)
  • garlic to taste
  • 1/4 onion optional

Basically pour some olive oil in a deep, small saucepan, cook down the onion if you’re using it, then add all the finely sliced mushrooms. Pour over the soy sauce and cover the pan with a lid for a couple of minutes. Remove lid and add crushed garlic and whatever acidity you want to you. Cook right down for about another 5 -10 minutes so that there is a mushroomy-soy sauce at the bottom of the pan and the mushrooms have blackened and wilted.

Done.

Leave a Reply

