I made vegan mayonnaise, and it was good.

5 Oct


You’re sceptical, I can tell.

But I’ll be honest. There are many dairy/egg alternatives that bear no resemblance to the animal product they attempt to make redundant. Soy milk is good, but it doesn’t taste like cow juice. I bared with soy yoghurt for a while, but I never was quite able to shake the idea that it had something in common with what I imagine liquid cardboard may taste like.  Carob is definitely not a patch on chocolate.

But, at the End of the Road Festival a few weeks ago, Man Woman and another man and woman (though not the) discovered home made vegan mayonnaise at the stall that sustained us, the  Wide Awake Cafe. At first I thought it was some kind of garlicky yoghurt, but when I went to enquire – dressed appropriately hippie in a alpaca beanie and large shawl from the Oxfam shop – the cafe staff said it was indeed vegan mayonnaise and home made, so I could not buy it anywhere.

This made me sad. But then they told me the recipe. Then I was happy. They didn’t give proportions, and mine are only a guess, but if you fiddle around with it, you’ll get to the business. It actually tastes like mayonnaise and is probably a good deal healthier.

Vegan mayonnaise

  • 1/2 C unsweetened soy milk
  • 1/4 C sunflower oil
  • 1 tsp white wine vinegar
  • 1 tsp lemon juice
  • salt
  • 2 garlic cloves crushed (optional)

I tried to whisk the bastard, but it was having none of it. The blender did the trick.

Leave a Reply

